Nicolas Lell Benavides is currently a composer in residence with the Elevate Ensemble. He recently wrote a piece titled ‘Summer of ’69’ which is a multimedia work involving projected video and chamber orchestra. This was fun to play and utilized a minimalist composition technique, by giving players short musical games that we would play when cued. This was also my first performance on my new instrument, I picked it up earlier in the week!

San Francisco composer Joe Colombo wrote a great new piece which premiered with the Elevate Ensemble last month. A wind trio for piccolo, oboe, and contraforte drawing inspiration from Beethoven, Ravel and Xenakis (B:R:X)

Conductor: Chad Goodman

Piccolo: Bethanne Walker

Oboe: Sydne Sullivan

Contraforte: Kris King

San Francisco is a hub of new music and small ensembles. One of these newly formed groups, is a chamber orchestra called Elevate Ensemble. This is a unique ensemble in that they perform rare works that don’t receive enough attention. Their next show is on October 10 at 8pm at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music.  Come to hear..


Hanns Eisler     Nonet no.1

Walter Piston     Divertimento

Danny Clay     Bethlehem Triptych

Richard Wagner     Siegfried Idyll

Tickets available for $15 at


Elevate Ensemble

Tax deductible contributions with AWESOME PERKS can be made at